WBBAG goes to Canberra to push for study of alternative route

On 29 May 2007, members from the Western Brisbane Bypass Action Group (WBBAG), REPA and The Gap Community joined Dr Bruce Flegg (State Member for Moggill), Mr Michael Johnson (Federal Member for Ryan) and Mr Cameron Thompson (Federal Member for Blair) on a trip to Canberra to meet with Commonwealth Roads Minister Jim Lloyd. These parties were united in a quest to get the Federal Government to fund a study of an alternative route for a Western Brisbane Bypass along the Brisbane Valley.

All parties stressed to the Minister their opposition to any Western Bypass in the proximity of Mt Coot-tha. They also discussed the current lack of information and community consultation, and the potential environmental and social issues an inner Western Brisbane Bypass would impose on numerous communities.

Mr Cameron Thompson said that Esk Shire had put a map together that showed where they would like a road to be.

Minister Lloyd stated quite strongly that a Liberal Government would not fund an inner Western Brisbane Bypass through the communities of Moggill, Bellbowrie, Pullenvale, Brookfield, The Gap and Samford.

He said he couldn't commit to funding a study of an alternative route along the Brisbane Valley, but that he would direct his department to conduct a desk top study of this alternative as a possible precursor to further investigation.